Hezekiah it

In 1620, I attended a women’s retreat called Healed for Life (H4L), you can read about it here. Did I say 1620, sorry 2016! Mind me not. It is one of the memorable things I’ve done this year and I’m truly grateful to GOD for it. I hope to go again and again as much as I can. Babe ghast be healed for life though! Amen?

You might be wondering when I get to the reason behind the name of this post. Let me explain. One of the tools I gained at the retreat was to ‘Hezekiah’ any issues I have. I recently re-read the account of king Hezekiah in Isaiah 36-40. Here’s a summary:

Hezekiah was one of the kings of Judah, a direct descendant of dear king David. One of the things you may remember from his reign was when he received a letter sent from an enemy king threatening to take over Jerusalem. You may also recall what he did with the letter.

 king-hezekiah-1024x707 Image credit: Ministry-To-Children

He took it to the KING of all kings in HIS temple. “. . . and Hezekiah went up to the house of the LORD, and spread [the letter] before the LORD.” – Isaiah 37:14. He laid it before GOD with his face to the ground and poured out his complaint and heart before GOD, telling HIM about the issue. And you may also remember what happened next. Hezekiah got a response from GOD through the prophet Isaiah and the king of Assyria didn’t even enter Jerusalem to attack it. GOD HIMSELF sent one angel to wipe out 185, 000 Assyrian soldiers in one night. Hezekiah didn’t even lift a sword, didn’t even form an army, talk more of arming them!

Of course, you know I have a point! Pastor Jo Naughton who leads the H4L taught us this ‘trick’. Whenever you feel off kilter or out of your wits or overwhelmed or sad or disappointed or whatever it is that doesn’t make you feel joyful and peaceful and happy, just take it to GOD. In fact I’ll tell you what posture to take.

Go to your usual prayer spot (mine’s next to my bed), take your usual prayer position or better still, just kneel before GOD in a humble, GOD-I’m-bare-before-YOU position. The next step is to tell HIM exactly what you’re thinking, exactly how you feel, exactly what’s going on in your mind, all your thoughts and feelings.

 child-crying Image credit: CTF

This is not the time to start waxing lyrical quoting scriptures. This is the time to be open and honest before GOD. Jo gave us the image of a child running to mum to complain about all the kids that were mean to her on the playground at school. Then imagine the mum giving reassurance that it’s okay and loving her child back to happiness and joy and peace.

That’s what happens when we open up before GOD, no mincing words which gets you nowhere. I’ll give you an example. When I got my timetable for this academic year, I didn’t like it and I was quite vexed to be honest. But after whining about it, the Holy Spirit kindly reminded me of Romans 8:28 that all things work together for my good.

So as soon as I got home that afternoon, I went to my prayer place, knelt down and Hezekiah’d the timetable. As soon as I was done pouring out my heart to GOD and waiting on Him and receiving HIS peace, I felt better about it. GOD was aware and present when the timetable was being done and it turned out the way it was, then it means He had something in mind for me. My aim is to make sure I cooperate with what HE wants to do in my life.

So what does this mean for you? When something happens that steals your peace, Hezekiah it. If your joy has been stolen by whatever, Hezekiah it. If you feel disappointment, Hezekiah it. If you receive a report that doesn’t line up with the WORD of God, Hezekiah it. Whatever it is that doesn’t line up with the Spirit of GOD in you, HEZEKIAH IT!!

Don’t push it aside; don’t bury it; don’t act macho; don’t pretend you’re okay when you’re not. This is one method to learn to use REGULARLY so you’re healed for life in this world because all the above negative feelings will come at one point or the other in this life.

To your spiritual growth, healing and divine intervention, . . .

3 thoughts on “Hezekiah it

  1. Pingback: little Big things | Some musings!!

Leave a comment