Haggai Body

A couple of weeks ago, at the start of the Christmas break, I was reading the book of Haggai for my quiet time (devotional) that morning. At the time also, it had been on my mind to resume my daily exercises that I had stopped since last summer. Even though my BMI index is alright, I couldn’t say I was fit as my only exercise was climbing up and down the stairs at work and walking about while teaching and going to and from the toilet and my car! I think my body was now accustomed to these, it did nothing for my strength nor energy levels by the end of the day.

So while reading the chapters of that book, I read them through the lens of exercising – one of the ways we can take care of our bodies, the temples of GOD (1 Corinthians 6:15-20). And shared next are the things I ‘saw’ through those lens and almost verbatim what I wrote down in my journal.

runningImage credit: sportpartner

Chapters 1 -2: Reading this in the light of my body now being the temple of GOD looks like a call to exercise and take care of it.

Building the LORD’s house brings HIS blessings – my efforts in life yield the correct results: I eat and I’m satisfied; I drink and my thirst is quenched; the clothes I wear keep me warm (maybe because they fit! Lol . . .) I don’t blow my earnings on food cravings that don’t satisfy. I don’t give in to gluttony to try to satisfy an insatiable hunger and thirst only GOD truly can (chapter 1:6).

Chapter 1 verse 8: GOD takes pleasure in building HIS house and is glorified when I do so.

Chapter 1 verses 10-11: GOD can call for drought e.g. sicknesses, to call me back to my senses to take care of HIS temple; also see chapter 2 verses 15-17.

Chapter 1 verse 13: And as I begin to take care of my body, HIS temple, HE promises to be with me.

Chapter 2 verses 1-5: Discouragement might set in when I begin to look at pictures from before when I looked a lot healthier and skinnier and fitter but GOD’s encouragement to me is to be strong and work at my body for HE is with me.

Chapter 2 verses 6-9: HE will make all necessary resources available for the rebuilding of HIS temple so that the future glory of it will be greater than the former so-called youthful one.

book-and-reading-glasses-007 Image credit: larrypatten

Chapter 2 verses 18-19: From the day that I decide to build GOD’s temple, my body as per HIS design and as led by HIS SPIRIT, analogous to the laying of the foundation of the Temple, HE says this to me, “from this day will I bless you.

Chapter 2 verse 23: Those leading others to take care of their temples may or can get a special blessing and attention from GOD just like Joshua the high priest and Zerubabbel the governor did from GOD!!

THE END.

Have you ever seen something other than the obvious in Scripture before, that spoke to you personally? Please feel free to share in the comments section below.

To the eyes of your understanding being enlightened, . . .

Leave a Reply

