Has a Book Changed my Life?

Of course! You probably already know the answer to this question. If you’ve read any of my posts this month or even in the last year. At least, you can have a good guess at the book that has helped me make sense of this life.

And it’s the Bible, God’s written word. I grew up reading, listening and learning the Word of God. Everyday at home morning and evening and every Sunday, Monday and/or Thursday in church. And given that I was born on a Sunday, I reckon I had it coming!😂

My aged Bible!🥰

But seriously though, whenever I feel out of my depth, not sure of what’s happening, what’s coming or going, my greatest sense of peace and the reset of my mind comes from knowing the infallible truth of God’s Word. Written so many years and about many lifetimes ago, it’s a mystery that we can all find ourselves in the pages and stories of the Bible. If we would only take the time to look.

My recently published new book, In the Life of Abraham, draws quite a few parallels with the modern day Christian’s life allowing us to glean wisdom from the first man of faith, whom God called out of his father’s house.

You look at the life of Ruth, for example, and you realise that loyalty and steadfastness even in unfavourable circumstances can utterly change your life beyond your wildest dream. You see that it is to our own benefit to serve God.

Or is it the life of David, whom God called His friend, that encourages us that no matter how much we mess up, there’s still room for us at the Father’s table. You can keep coming boldly to receive mercy and forgiveness. God called him a man after His own heart. What a reputation!

Check out the book of Proverbs filled with many wisdom bombs and nuggets and nukes, that will totally transform anyone’s mind to think higher thoughts and behave themselves wisely across all levels of seniority.

I can keep going on with more examples. But I think you get the picture.

The Bible has changed and keeps changing my life. For the better. Everyday. As it has done and still does for millions of others around the world. Maybe including you?

No? Then I’ll encourage you to start reading today. You can start with the simple Gospel of John. Download the Bible app, YouVersion for free at your favourite app store.

Now to you. What book has changed your life the most?

Leave a comment